One typical example of this type of interference is when the batter-runner touches a fair batted ball when the batter is outside the batter’s box.
In this example, the batter bunts the ball down the first base line and inadvertently kicks the ball.
The umpire signals interference, and calls the batter-runner out.
With offensive interference, any runners on base are returned to the base that was last legally occupied when the interference occurred. … It is scored as a putout by the catcher.
If a batted ball is in foul territory when the batter-runner touches it unintentionally, the batter-runner is not called out. However, if the umpire believes the batter-runner intentionally touches a foul ball, the batter-runner is called out for interference.